Independent and source-linked. Every value cites the FCC grant or maker. No affiliate links. Not hands-on tested. How we work

Comparisons Midland MXT575 MicroMobile vs Midland MXT500 MicroMobile

Midland MXT575 vs MXT500 MicroMobile

Two 50-watt Midland MicroMobiles at the same maker price ($439.99 on 2026-10-21). Filed power is close. The documented differences are IP66, PC programming and channel count on the MXT500, and the grants' installation conditions. Not hands-on tested

Last checked 2026-10-21 · every value links to its source · both radios are in our database

Where to buy: retailer price links aren't added yet. List prices below are the makers' own, on the date shown.

FCC filings side by side

Midland MXT575 MicroMobileMidland MXT500 MicroMobile
FCC IDMMAMXT575MMAMXT500
GranteeMidland Radio Corporation (grantee code MMA)Midland Radio Corporation (grantee code MMA)
Rule part95E95E
Grant date2021-04-202021-05-16
Filed power, 462 main48.87 W conducted grant47.863 W conducted grant
Filed power, 462 interstitial4.08 W conducted grant4.64515 W conducted grant
Filed power, 467 main (repeater input)46.67 W conducted grant43.7522 W conducted grant
Filed power, 467 interstitialnot in grantnot in grant

Maker specs side by side

Midland MXT575 MicroMobileMidland MXT500 MicroMobile
Rated power50 W (“Full 50W Radio”) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-2150 W (“Full 50-Watt”) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Power levelsHigh 50 W / Medium 25 W / Low 5 W (FAQ on Midland's MXT500 page, which answers for MXT500 and MXT575) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21High / Medium / Low – 50 / 25 / 5 W (maker FAQ) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Channels15 high-power GMRS channels + 8 split-tone repeater channels; 142 privacy codes Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21Up to 128 channels: 15 high-power GMRS + 8 repeater channels, preprogrammed privacy channels 23–50; 154 privacy codes (50 CTCSS / 104 DCS) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
RepeaterYes – 8 split-tone repeater channels Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21Yes – 8 repeater channels Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Water/dust ratingnot yet verifiedIP66 Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Batteryn/a – 13.8 VDC nominal vehicle power (user guide) Midland MXT575 full user guide (Midland support site)checked 2026-10-21not yet verified
Battery life (maker claim)n/a (vehicle-powered) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21n/a (vehicle-powered) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Chargingn/a (12 V power); USB-C port for charging other devices – QC 3.0/2.0 up to 36 W, PD 12 V/9 V/5 V at 3 A Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21n/a (vehicle power); USB-C port for charging and data Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
Antenna2.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount and cable included; radio-side connector type not stated on the product page Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-212.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount (listed on a bundle option of the maker page); radio-side connector type not stated Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
NOAA weatherNOAA Weather Scan + Alert Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21NOAA Weather Radio Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
SAME county filteringnot yet verifiednot yet verified
Weightnot yet verifiednot yet verified
Warrantynot yet verified1 year Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21
List price$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21$439.99 (maker site) Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21

What the sources actually show

Power is nearly identical on paper. Both grants list conducted output, measured at the antenna terminal before the antenna. That’s the same basis as the 50 W limit for mobile stations in §95.1767(a)(1), so these figures can be compared with the rule directly. Here’s how they differ:

  • 462 MHz main channels: the MXT575 is higher, 48.87 vs 47.863 W (+2.1%, about 0.09 dB).
  • 467 MHz repeater inputs: the MXT575 is higher, 46.67 vs 43.75 W (+6.7%, about 0.28 dB).
  • 462 MHz interstitials: the MXT500 is higher, 4.645 vs 4.08 W (+13.9%, about 0.56 dB).

Both makers’ pages call these “50-watt” radios, and Midland’s FAQ gives High / Medium / Low as 50 / 25 / 5 W for both models. All of these are filed test figures, not our measurements.

The grants set different installation conditions. These are FCC RF-exposure conditions, and they are the most practical difference in the filings:

  • MXT575 (grant): the antenna must be installed to keep at least 40 cm from all persons, and “antenna gain including cable loss must not exceed 2.1 dBi.”
  • MXT500 (grant): the antenna must be installed to keep at least 151.8 cm from all persons.

The two grants were filed by different test labs a month apart (2021-04-20 and 2021-05-16), so the different figures may reflect different test assumptions. We haven’t seen the underlying RF-exposure reports. In practice, plan where the antenna goes (and who sits or stands near it) around the distance on your model’s grant. See mobile & repeater setup basics.

Features Midland lists only for the MXT500. These are from Midland’s MXT500 page, seen 2026-10-21:

  • IP66 rating. We found no IP rating on the MXT575 page.
  • Up to 128 channels, including preprogrammed privacy channels 23–50.
  • Midland calls it “the only programmable MicroMobile” (PC software, Windows 10 or lower).
  • PA, ANC and a stated 1-year warranty.

Features Midland lists for the MXT575.

  • A USB-C port for charging other devices (QC 3.0/2.0 up to 36 W; PD 12/9/5 V at 3 A).
  • 15 high-power channels plus 8 repeater channels, 142 privacy codes.
  • The user guide gives 13.8 VDC nominal supply.

Midland’s MXT575 page also contains a line that says “The MXT500 delivers…”, which looks like a copy error. We took power figures from the MXT575 grant, not from that line.

Which fits which buyer (from specs only)

  • Radio mounted where it may get wet, or you want to program channels from a PC: the MXT500’s IP66 rating and programming support are documented. The MXT575’s aren’t.
  • Want the radio to double as a USB-C charging hub in the vehicle: the MXT575 lists the charging spec.
  • Range: neither the FCC nor we verify range. It depends mostly on antenna height and placement, terrain and whether you use a repeater.

Licensing: both transmit on GMRS frequencies, so you need an FCC GMRS license (how to get one). Both grants list rule part 95E.

Nothing on this page has been hands-on tested. No affiliate links. Weight, MXT575 IP rating and warranty, and SAME support for both radios are not yet verified.