Independent and source-linked. Every value cites the FCC grant or maker. Some links earn us a commission; it never changes our data. Not hands-on tested. How we work

Comparisons BTECH GMRS-V2 vs BTECH GMRS-PRO

BTECH GMRS-V2 vs GMRS-PRO

Same maker, same 5 W class, a $110 price gap ($44.89 vs $154.89 on BTECH's site, 2026-10-21). On the main channels the filed power is almost identical. The documented differences are water rating, the antenna, how you program it, and the PRO's texting, GPS and Bluetooth. Not hands-on tested

Last checked 2026-10-21 · every value links to its source · both radios are in our database

Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page go to retailers that pay us a commission if you buy, at no extra cost to you (currently BTECH only). Commissions never change our data, picks or ordering. How we make money

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-V2

$44.89 maker list price at BTECH

Checked 2026-10-21 · In stock (BTECH product page) · prices change; the retailer's page is final

Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

Where to buy · BTECH GMRS-PRO

$154.89 maker list price at BTECH

Checked 2026-10-21 · In stock (BTECH product page) · prices change; the retailer's page is final

Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)

We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How we make money

FCC filings side by side

BTECH GMRS-V2BTECH GMRS-PRO
FCC ID2AGND-GMRS-V22AGND-GMRS-PRO
GranteeBTECH (BaoFeng Tech) (grantee code 2AGND)BTECH (BaoFeng Tech), Arlington, SD (grantee code 2AGND)
Rule part95E95E
Grant date2021-10-262021-12-01
Filed power, 462 main4.6 W ERP grant4.624 W ERP grant
Filed power, 462 interstitial3.64 W ERP grant4.634 W ERP grant
Filed power, 467 main (repeater input)4.59 W ERP grant4.634 W ERP grant
Filed power, 467 interstitial0.46 W ERP grant0.406 W ERP grant

Maker specs side by side

BTECH GMRS-V2BTECH GMRS-PRO
Rated power5 W high / 0.5 W low; channels 8–14 low power only sourcechecked 2026-10-215 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Power levelsHigh 5 W / Low 0.5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-211 W / 3 W / 5 W sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Channels200 memory channels; receive 65–108, 136–174, 400–520 MHz; CHIRP programmable sourcechecked 2026-10-21180 memory channels (6 banks of 30) sourcechecked 2026-10-21
RepeaterYes – repeater compatible sourcechecked 2026-10-21Yes – GMRS repeater support with split tones sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Water/dust ratingIP54 sourcechecked 2026-10-21IP67 sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Battery7.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack (capacity not stated on the product page) sourcechecked 2026-10-21BP-26 2600 mAh listed as compatible battery; 7.4 V operating voltage sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Battery life (maker claim)Up to 18 hours (maker claim) sourcechecked 2026-10-21not yet verified
ChargingUSB-C (maker: "all USB-C cables"), plus included desktop charger; full charge in 3–4 hours sourcechecked 2026-10-21USB-C port on the rechargeable battery sourcechecked 2026-10-21
AntennaRemovable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21Not stated by BTECH. 47 CFR 95.1787(a)(4) requires a non-removable antenna on GMRS handhelds that send digital data, and BTECH lists texting and GPS location sharing sourcechecked 2026-10-21
NOAA weatherNOAA weather receiver sourcechecked 2026-10-21NOAA alerts sourcechecked 2026-10-21
SAME county filteringnot yet verifiednot yet verified
Weight214 g; 58 × 110 × 32 mm (maker) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Radio body 150 g + battery 120 g (270 g total); 58 × 125 × 35 mm (spec sheet). BTECH's product page lists 11 oz sourcechecked 2026-10-21
Warrantynot yet verifiednot yet verified
List price$44.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link$154.89 (maker site) sourcechecked 2026-10-21Check price at BTECH (opens in a new tab)commission link

What the sources actually show

Filed power: nearly identical on the main channels, different on the interstitials. Both grants list ERP (effective radiated power, measured with the radio’s own antenna), so these two can be compared directly. Here’s how they differ:

  • 462 MHz main channels: GMRS-PRO 4.624 W vs GMRS-V2 4.6 W (+0.5%, about 0.02 dB). That’s effectively the same.
  • 467 MHz repeater inputs: GMRS-PRO 4.634 W vs 4.59 W (+1.0%, about 0.04 dB). Also effectively the same.
  • 462 MHz interstitials (FRS 1–7): GMRS-PRO 4.634 W vs 3.64 W (+27%, about 1.05 dB). This is the one real gap in the filings. Both are under the 5 W ERP limit in §95.1767(b).
  • 467 MHz interstitials (FRS 8–14): GMRS-V2 0.46 W vs 0.406 W (+13%, about 0.54 dB). Both are under the 0.5 W ERP handheld limit in §95.1767(c).

These are the FCC test-lab figures from the grants, not our measurements. Neither the FCC nor we certify range.

Antenna: removable on the V2, fixed on the PRO.

  • GMRS-V2: BTECH documents a removable “SMA-Female antenna” and a Kenwood-style K1 2-pin accessory jack (BTECH). You can fit an aftermarket antenna. See antenna connectors & upgrades before buying one.
  • GMRS-PRO: BTECH lists off-grid texting and GPS location sharing. Under §95.1787(a)(4), on a GMRS handheld that can transmit digital data, “the antenna must be a non-removable integral part of the GMRS unit.” BTECH’s own page doesn’t state the antenna type, so we’re going by the rule here. For wired accessories, the PRO’s spec sheet lists a “GMRS-PRO K1 Adaptor Cable” (spec sheet).

Water and dust: IP54 vs IP67. BTECH rates the V2 IP54 (“splash resistant”) and the PRO IP67, which it describes as “fully protected against dust” and able to be “submerged in water up to 1 meter deep for 30 minutes.” Neither rating is part of the FCC grant, and we haven’t tested either.

Programming and features.

GMRS-V2GMRS-PRO
How you program itKeypad (GCH-AD menu) or free CHIRP software on a computerBTECH GMRS Programmer app on iOS/Android over Bluetooth; firmware upgradeable
Memory200 channels (000–199)180 channels in 6 banks of 30
Power levels (maker)5 W / 0.5 W5 W / 3 W / 1 W
DataNone listedShort text messages, GPS location sharing, compass
BluetoothNone listedHFP headsets and BTECH’s BS-22 speaker mic. The grant has a separate Bluetooth row (2402–2480 MHz)
Receive-only bands (maker)65–108, 136–174, 400–520 MHz87–108 (FM), 136–174, 400–520 MHz
Audio output (maker)1 W2 W (spec sheet: “≤2W”)

Sources: GMRS-V2 page, GMRS-PRO page and GMRS-PRO spec sheet, checked 2026-10-21.

Battery and charging.

  • GMRS-V2: a 7.4 V BL-8 Li-ion pack. BTECH doesn’t state the capacity on the product page. It claims up to 18 hours of “normal usage,” says the V2 charges from “all USB-C cables,” and includes a desktop charger.
  • GMRS-PRO: the spec sheet lists the BP-26 2600 mAh pack. BTECH calls it a “Long-Lasting USB-C Battery.” Several 2022 customer reviews on BTECH’s page say it charges from USB-A-to-USB-C cables but not from USB-C-to-USB-C or PD chargers. Those are user reports; we haven’t checked them, and we don’t know if later batteries changed.

Weight. The V2 is 214 g, per BTECH’s page. The PRO is 150 g for the radio body plus 120 g for the battery, 270 g total, per its spec sheet (about 26% heavier). BTECH’s PRO product page separately says “11 ounces.”

One spec conflict to know about. The PRO’s product page gives a receiver sensitivity of 0.16 µV. Its spec sheet says ≤0.20 µV (wide band) and ≤0.22 µV (narrow band). The V2’s page says 0.2 µV. Lower is more sensitive, but we can’t compare figures that BTECH itself publishes two ways, so we don’t rank receivers on them.

Which fits which buyer (from specs only)

  • Lowest cost, or you want to swap antennas: the GMRS-V2. It costs $44.89 at maker list price, has a removable SMA antenna, and is programmable from CHIRP or the keypad. The trade-offs are IP54 instead of IP67, and a lower filed ERP on the 462 MHz interstitials.
  • Wet conditions, or off-grid texting and location sharing with other PRO users: the GMRS-PRO. It has IP67, texting, GPS and Bluetooth audio. The trade-offs are the fixed antenna (required by rule for data radios), app-based programming, a higher price and more weight.
  • Repeater users: both grants include the 467 MHz repeater-input channels at nearly the same ERP, and BTECH lists repeater support for both. See repeaters & mobile setup.
  • Still choosing between handheld and mobile? Read how to choose a GMRS radio.

Licensing: both transmit on GMRS, so you need an FCC GMRS license (how to get one). Both grants list rule part 95E.

Nothing on this page has been hands-on tested. The "Check price at BTECH" buttons are affiliate links (BTECH pays us a commission; disclosure). This comparison was written before we joined BTECH's program and its conclusions haven't changed. Warranty for both radios, the V2's battery capacity, and SAME county filtering on both are not yet verified.