Independent and source-linked. Every value cites the FCC grant or maker. No affiliate links. Not hands-on tested. How we work

GMRS setup guides GMRS antenna connectors and upgrade basics: handhelds vs mobiles

GMRS antenna connectors and upgrade basics: handhelds vs mobiles

Before buying an antenna, check three things: the connector the maker documents, whether the channel you use has an ERP limit (gain counts there), and any antenna-gain or separation condition on your radio's FCC grant.

Last checked 2026-10-21

Sources: 47 CFR Part 95 text from eCFR, FCC grants via fccid.io, and maker product pages and manuals, all checked 2026-10-21. We haven't tested any antenna. This is a reading of the rules, not legal advice.

What the makers document for each radio

RadioTypeAntenna / connector (maker's wording)Filed power basis (FCC grant)
Midland GXT67 PROHandheldnot yet verifiedERP MMAGXT67
Rocky Talkie Expedition Radio (5 Watt)HandheldRemovable, SMA-male; 7.5 cm and 17 cm included sourcechecked 2026-10-21ERP 2ATSN-RT5WV1
Wouxun KG-935G PlusHandheldANO-039 antenna included (connector type not stated) sourcechecked 2026-10-21ERP WVTWOUXUN26
BTECH GMRS-PROHandheldNot stated by BTECH. 47 CFR 95.1787(a)(4) requires a non-removable antenna on GMRS handhelds that send digital data, and BTECH lists texting and GPS location sharing sourcechecked 2026-10-21ERP 2AGND-GMRS-PRO
Midland MXT275 MicroMobileMobile (vehicle)SO-239 jack; 2.1 dB magnetic-mount antenna (MXTA13) included Midland MXT275 product pagechecked 2026-10-21conducted MMAMXT275
Midland MXT575 MicroMobileMobile (vehicle)2.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount and cable included; radio-side connector type not stated on the product page Midland MXT575 product pagechecked 2026-10-21conducted MMAMXT575
Midland MXT500 MicroMobileMobile (vehicle)2.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount (listed on a bundle option of the maker page); radio-side connector type not stated Midland MXT500 product pagechecked 2026-10-21conducted MMAMXT500
BTECH GMRS-V2HandheldRemovable; SMA-Female antenna connector (maker's wording); K1 2-pin accessory jack sourcechecked 2026-10-21ERP 2AGND-GMRS-V2
BTECH GMRS-50X1Mobile (vehicle)No antenna included – “requires an external antenna”; BTECH suggests an NMO-mount antenna (Nagoya NMO-200C). Radio-side connector type not stated on the product page. sourcechecked 2026-10-21ERP 2AGND50X1G

Blank or “not stated” means we couldn’t find the connector in the maker’s own documents, so we didn’t guess. The radio table has the full specs.

Handhelds: SMA connectors, and when the antenna can’t come off

SMA comes in two genders, and makers word it differently.

  • A male SMA connector has a center pin.
  • A female SMA connector has a center socket.
  • RP-SMA (“reverse polarity”) swaps the pin and socket. It looks similar but doesn’t mate with standard SMA.

Makers don’t use these terms the same way. Rocky Talkie describes the Expedition’s antenna as “SMA-male.” BTECH describes the GMRS-V2 as using an “SMA-Female antenna.” Neither page makes clear whether the word refers to the radio’s jack or the antenna’s plug. Before you order, look at the radio’s own connector (pin or socket?) and buy the mating type. Don’t rely on the word alone.

Some handhelds legally can’t have a removable antenna. 47 CFR §95.1787(a)(4) applies to GMRS handhelds that can transmit digital data (location or short text messages, allowed by §95.1731(d)). For those radios, “the antenna must be a non-removable integral part of the GMRS unit.” On a radio that sends GPS or text data, a fixed antenna is required, not a design shortcut.

The power figure on a handheld grant usually already includes the antenna. The handheld grants in our database list ERP (effective radiated power, measured with the stock antenna). For example, the GMRS-V2 grant shows 4.6 W ERP on the 462 MHz main channels. A different antenna changes the real ERP, but the grant figure won’t change, and we have no measurements of aftermarket antennas.

Mobiles: SO-239, NMO and magnet mounts

  • Midland MXT275: Midland documents an SO-239 jack and includes a 2.1 dB magnetic-mount antenna.
  • MXT575 and MXT500: Midland’s pages list a 2.1 dB unity-gain antenna with magnet mount, but don’t state the connector on the radio. Check the manual or the radio itself.
  • BTECH GMRS-50X1: BTECH says it “requires an external antenna” and points buyers to an NMO-mount antenna. NMO is a mount style on the vehicle side, and the coax from the mount still needs the right plug for the radio.

Read the grant comments before you upgrade a mobile antenna. Mobile grants often carry RF-exposure installation conditions:

RadioGrant condition (quoted or paraphrased from the grant)Source
Midland MXT575“Antenna gain including cable loss must not exceed 2.1 dBi”; at least 40 cm separation from all personsMMAMXT575
Midland MXT500At least 151.8 cm separation from all personsMMAMXT500
BTECH GMRS-50X1At least 104.7 cm separation from all persons2AGND50X1G
Midland MXT275At least 86 cm separation from all persons; “Maximum allowd [sic] antenna gain is 2.15dBi”MMAMXT275

The MXT575 and MXT275 grants both cap antenna gain (2.1 dBi including cable loss, and 2.15 dBi). On those radios, a higher-gain antenna would fall outside the figure in the radio’s own grant. The MXT500 and GMRS-50X1 grants we read state a separation distance but no gain figure. The distances differ a lot between grants (40 cm to 151.8 cm), and we haven’t seen the underlying test reports explaining why. For the MXT575, Midland’s product page says “2.1 dB” without saying dBi or dBd. That matters, because 2.1 dBd would be about 4.25 dBi. We haven’t confirmed which Midland means.

How antenna gain interacts with the power rules

The power limits in §95.1767 don’t all measure the same thing:

ChannelsLimit (quoted from §95.1767)Does antenna gain count?
462 & 467 MHz main“The transmitter output power of mobile, repeater and base stations must not exceed 50 Watts”; fixed stations 15 WNo. This limit is transmitter output, before the antenna.
462 MHz interstitial“The effective radiated power (ERP) of mobile, hand-held portable and base stations … must not exceed 5 Watts”Yes. ERP includes antenna gain and cable loss.
467 MHz interstitialERP of hand-held portable units “must not exceed 0.5 Watt”, and radios must be designed so it doesn’tYes.

Worked example. This is arithmetic, not a measurement. The definitions: 0 dBd (a half-wave dipole) = 2.15 dBi, and ERP in dBW = transmitter output in dBW + antenna gain in dBd − cable loss in dB.

  • Starting point: the MXT575 grant lists 4.08 W conducted on the 462 MHz interstitials.
  • With an antenna at the grant’s 2.1 dBi limit (cable loss included, about −0.05 dBd), ERP works out to about 4.0 W. That’s under the 5 W ERP limit.
  • With a 3 dBd antenna and no cable loss on the same output, ERP would be about 8.1 W. That’s over the 5 W limit on those channels, and outside the grant’s antenna condition.

So a “gain upgrade” mainly matters on the interstitial channels and for grant conditions. On the main channels the 50 W limit is on transmitter output, not ERP.

Don’t modify the radio itself. §95.337 bans modifications that change a transmitter’s technical functioning so that it breaks the rules, “including … increased transmitter output power.” Such a change “voids the certified status.” The rule text talks about the transmitter and doesn’t mention antenna swaps, but the ERP limits above still apply to whatever antenna you use.

Height and placement

  • §95.317: antenna structures more than 200 ft (60.96 m) above ground may require FAA notification and FCC registration. Near airports, structures over 20 ft (6.10 m) may face extra limits.
  • Placement also sets the RF-exposure distance from people. Use the separation figure on your radio’s grant (table above).

Checklist before buying an antenna

  1. Check the radio’s connector physically (pin or socket; SMA or RP-SMA; SO-239) and buy the mating type, or a proper adapter.
  2. Find out whether your radio’s grant limits antenna gain or sets a separation distance (search its FCC ID; see how).
  3. If you use the 462 or 467 MHz interstitial channels, remember those limits are ERP, so gain counts.
  4. On a handheld that sends GPS or text data, the antenna must be fixed (§95.1787(a)(4)).

Related: repeaters & mobile setup basics · channel & power chart · methodology.